Uncategorized

Just do it!

 I have been waiting until I could write a perfect blog post with fabulous photos – that will never happen!  I have been intimidated by the professional standard of the blogging world. But hey this is just so I can take pride in what I have created and a place to keep those visual memories so here goes!
I have been on a sewing journey this year, and have loved rediscovering the pleasure in making and wearing clothes I have made. I have not been very good at taking photos though!  Since April when I started sewing again I have bought a new sewing machine a Janome 525 as used on the Great British Sewing Bee.  I have made 10 wearable tops and 4 dresses.  All of the dresses were summer ones so have been put away for next year.  The first dress I made was the one covered in tape measures which I blogged about in a previous post.  Fabric from the Remnant House in Harrogate. 
The white and blue abstract flowered dress was made with cotton sateen I bought from the Shuttle in Shipley.  I really liked sewing with cotton sateen – it hangs really well and doesn’t need lining.  This was the most “pretty” dress I made.  Oh yes the bodice was Simplicity 2444, and the skirt part was an A line shape that I put box pleats in. I believe the term is Franken pattern? ( when you use different parts of sewing patterns). 
The vest top is Colette patterns free Sorbetto pattern http://www.coletterie.com/colette-patterns-news/free-pattern-to-download-the-sorbetto-top  which is great. I can see me making a couple of these every year. The swimmers fabric cost me £2 from the Shuttle again. 
Thanks for reading!
Ruth
Leave a Reply

