Uncategorized

Autumn sewing plans

I have decided to split my sewing year into two halves. I will sew autumn/winter clothes from September to February and spring/summer clothes from March to October.  My autumn/winter plans tie in with  starting a full time job in November and needing some work clothes. I noticed the Fall Essentials Sew-Along 2013   on Ness’a blog and thought  the sew along would provide me the impetus I needed. I am going for two categories:

Chic Chemises for Cool Climates
I aim to make at least one Airelle, one Jasmine and one Violet blouse. I have made all of these before, and know the pattern adjustments I need to make to get them to fit. 
 I have actually got some photos of ones I made earlier (so not blue peter!).  For my first Airelle blouse I used fabric from Leeds market for the main blouse and red polka dot fabric from the Remnant House in Harrogate.  The background of the daisy fabric is actually black with tiny red dots so it co-ordinates beautifully!
My  Collette patterns violet blouse was made for the summer.  It was the first time I used vintage buttons – some red french ones. I really love the impact of them!
 Fabulous Frocks
I haven’t made winter dresses before, but am aiming to make Butterick 5813
and  also make a colour block dress using a pre loved pattern purchased via Etsy – Vogue Easy Options 2238
I bought some lovely double knit from Calico Laine in red, black, teal and oatmeal a while ago so hopefully I can make some work appropriate dresses!
One thought on “Autumn sewing plans

Leave a Reply

