Uncategorized

Stash busting 2014 part 2

It’s probably my poor blogging skills – but for some reason I couldn’t write as much as I wanted in the last post. To continue then…

These are three pieces of fabric that I don’t expect to sew until 2015, my sewing skills need to improve first. The slubby fabric is from The Shop, London  intended for a simple jacket from this vintage Butterick pattern.  I would like to make trousers out of the grey fabric, probably Simplicity 3688, a 1940’s reproduction which has been successful for quite a few sewing bloggers. The dark navy is a woollen suiting fabric from a Bradford Mill. I bought it at a recent St Gemma’s vintage fair, and the label said it is at least 50 years old. I think a simple straight skirt would look good.

These are my lining and toile fabrics, the grey polycotton was £10 for 10 metres, the white is cotton voile for underlining dresses. The coral and navy houndstooth came from St Gemma’s vintage fair, £1 for both pieces. I may use the navy to line my planned jacket, but I think it would only do the body, and not the sleeves. The chocolate polka dot polyester was a good buy from a vintage fair – I am not really a brown person, but it will be used for lining something so I won’t see it that much anyway. 
Who knows if I will actually use all these fabrics!  I really would like to though, and get to a position where I make all my  own dresses and skirts, most tops and some trousers and a couple of jackets. 
Lastly I would like to make a bag to use when I go swimming, from handmade Jane’s washbag instructions  using this vintage fabric. I think that covers my stash!
Leave a Reply

