Uncategorized

Sew Dolly Clackett – not bad for a duvet cover!

   When you start reading reading sewing blogs you can’t help coming across Roisin’s blog http://dollyclackett.blogspot.co.uk/.  Colourful fun and inspirational, she makes amazing beautiful dresses and produces at least one a week! These are some of my favourites.



She is getting married very soon and as a homage, an invitation has gone out in blog land to make a dress inspired by her. The details are here sew Dolly Clackett. This is my contribution. The fabric is from a duvet cover bought from a charity shop, lined with cotton muslin from a vintage fair. The bodice is Simplicity 2444, the skirt is from Christine Haynes Emery pattern, but with box pleats instead of gathers. Roisin has used these patterns  over and over again. 


I was good and made two muslins of the bodice but the neckline still gapes and could do with a little taken out. 


I tried a lapped zipper for the first time  using my zipper foot following some internet instructions. Not impressed with my efforts really, compared to my normal method, which is to baste the seam, baste the zip to it and sew on the right side with the regular sewing foot – I know that won’t make sense, but I know what I mean! 
The problem with the lapped zipper is that sewing the second side, I had to guess the one centimetre distance rather than lining it up with the measuring guide on my sewing machine. I will have to do some more investigation into lapped zip insertion, to perfect it. 

I do like the dress, and making it made me think about pattern matching and lapped zips, always good to learn new things.  Many, many congratulations to Roisin and Nick. I hope they have a happy, long creative life together ! 
4 thoughts on “Sew Dolly Clackett – not bad for a duvet cover!

  1. Love it, I really like it how you used the print. And you know what? I install the zipper same way you do! To get the same(ish) distance from the centre seam, I simply count how many stitches it takes from the turn to the seam, and I count the same number of stitches on the other side. Kinda works for me!

    Like

Leave a Reply

