Uncategorized

Leicester Market fabric buying!

Leicester market has recently been the focus of a blog post from Marie at http://www.astitchingodyssey.com/2014/03/material-magic.html Imagine my delight when I was able to squeeze in a quick visit,  albeit with a sibling and various children in tow which limited my abilities to browse and  stroke the fabric.  I didn’t buy anything from “Material Magic” the shop featured by Marie.
 But I still managed a nice little haul, from  the two market stalls. It was a joy to hear those magic words £2 a metre, 3 metres for £5!  Two lots of Coco stash – spotty and criss cross teal  (£8) – don’t you just love that teal colour! Oh – the fun of buying  3 metres of batman fabric for £5, and foolishly promising to make  one of my nephews a teeshirt!

 I am pleased with finished tshirt, it’s so nerve wracking sewing for other people. The pattern was a Burda download  as I couldn’t find a free pattern. I wouldn’t recommend it though, the instructions are very basic and the neck was very small, I have increased it by an inch all the way round, and I had to cut the neckband three times, to get the band big enough and going in the right  stretchy direction!

Some lovely blue wool melton,  at £6 a metre, still a fabulous bargain that I want to use for my first jacket, based on this coat Pink-heiro Ya da Bomb

Some purple ponte roma for a knit dress for work, and this fab navy ponte which has a border design made of strips of ponte sewn onto it. I think I will make up another ballet dress as I can show off the border nicely.

 A lovely haul of fabric – I’m sure I will be returning!

4 thoughts on “Leicester Market fabric buying!

Leave a Reply

