Uncategorized

Belcarra sewalong

I love this Belcarra top, and can see me making lots more. I liked it the minute I saw it  revealed on the Sewaholic blog. It’s a feminine shape and comfortable to wear. I want to try a knitted fabric next. 
The fabric was £2 from a charity shop, a lime eyelet or broderie anglais as we used to call it when I was a lass!
 
I underlined the front and back with some fine cotton voile, free  from a vintage fair (because I had bought other fabric), so I only had to buy some thread. 

A photo of the pinned cuffs – just trying to take photos as I sew.  I wasn’t sure about the cuffs, but they add a lovely finishing touch.
Conclusion – a wardrobe staple, pretty and practical!

4 thoughts on “Belcarra sewalong

  1. That's a really pretty version of Belcarra! I love that colour on you.

    Can I ask an impertinent question? (Delete this comment if I can't.) The blouse looks nicely fitted on you. Is it ok to slip on & off?

    Like

  2. Yes it's fine. I didn't make a muslin as I got the fabric at a charity or thrift shop, I guess you could compare the pattern with something else you have made or make a muslin.

    Like

  3. Ruth, this looks great on you. I'm curious to know what size you used since I see you didn't do a muslin?
    Before I buy the pattern I wanted to ask someone that appears to be more in my size range! Some times a Size 16 pattern in some brands just isn't!
    Thanks for your help, Barb

    Like

Leave a Reply

