Uncategorized

SWAP 2016 planning

I haven’t done any sewing for a while, not having a lot of time or inclination. I have a stash of 44 pieces of fabric though!
 Fairly recently I have found a few blogs where women who are closer to my own age, discuss and sew clothes they can wear on a day to day basis, and it’s not about promoting shops or pattern designers.  
From this I found the SWAP http://artisanssquare.com/sg/index.php/board,60.0.html competition, which is more about challenging ourselves to plan and sew a capsule wardrobe, based on some flexible rules. 
Although it’s a competition, it’s more about the process, and sharing plans. To be honest if I make three of the garments planned here, by the April deadline, I will be happy. I also want to build a series of capsule wardrobes that I love wearing, no matter what size I am, which means buying some clothes too.
The plan is for eleven garments  split into  four groups. I can use one ready made item and two items I have already sewn, which I probably will do, but am planning for all eleven at the moment. 
These are the patterns 

My first group are based on navy. I will make the Morris blaser and a simple elasticated skirt from the navy blue ponte.  Then probably a lottie blouse from the navy and cream viscose.

The second group has lime as a basis. I’m planing to use the simplicity 1202 pattern. The skirt in lime, top in white with lime flowers. I’m not sure about the polka dot Jersey, either a simple tee shirt, or I quite fancy a jersey cardigan.

The third group is two items that go with both the pervious groups. So a lottie top in the lime and poppies viscose and another simplicity top from the blue and green Liberty fabric.
So the last group is for three wildcards that again will fit in with the first two groups.  Possibly a grey pair of trousers, but I haven’t made trousers for thirty years! 
A simple Jersey maxi dress using the prima pattern and Van Gogh Jersey! 
And lastly a shirt dress (no pattern yet) from this lime roses sateen.
If I managed to sew all that next year, I would be delighted, and it would reduce my stash, and give me some lovely clothes to wear at work and home. 

2 thoughts on “SWAP 2016 planning

  1. What a great plan. I am so pleased you are joining in Ruth. I love your ideas and the fabrics you have put together. It is such a great way to use up the stash, although it seems to be a never ending battle as far as I am concerned.

    Like

  2. Thank you! I have been really inspired by your blog, and what you have done for previous swaps. In terms of stash, it's so quick and satisfying to buy more fabric. I really would like to get down to between 5 and 10 pieces though!

    Like

Leave a Reply

