Uncategorized

Plans for 2016

Hello,

I am not making resolutions just focusing on a few areas: 
Live a healthy life
Improve my CV 
Be creative with what I already have
Refresh and rejuvenate my home. 
I am mainly going to blog about being creative. You really don’t want to hear about the joys of Prince 2 which I will be doing to improve my CV.  Everybody and their dog has written about how to be healthy so I will give that a miss too!

Hopefully I will be creative in refreshing my home, so I may post occasionally about that. 

I am sticking with sewing and art journalling, as I have loads of stash for both hobbies.  I have dipped a toe into knitting but that’s another story, and I am determined not to build up a wool mountain/stash. I have tried Facebook as a mechanism to record my creative efforts, but it’s not worked for me.  I enjoy looking back at what I have blogged. So blogging and Instagram it is. I found that blogging in the past meant I created more. My writing and photo taking aren’t great, but I like having a record for me.
 2015 has been about buying fabric and not creating much, and not taking any photos. But I made a  couple more Tilly and the buttons coco tops, and six Grainline scout tops in the summer. Maybe I need to confess any new purchases here, to make me think about what I buy, rather than the ‘lets look at some fabric websites now I have had a couple of glasses of wine, oops I just pressed ‘purchase’!’
So this is me, you can see a tiny bit of one of my scout tops! 

I would love to spend a few hours every day being creative, but that doesn’t pay my bills, so I am trying to plan better this year, to squeeze some sewing and arting hours into each week.  To help me do this, I have started bullet journalling which I will do a blog post on. 
To focus my creativity  and try and stop myself from signing up to loads of random online courses, I have signed up to this, which runs for the whole year.

For my sewing, I will use the ideas behind the SWAP 2016, whether I actually join in officially or not. 
I really love the idea of creating mini capsule wardrobes, using my stash.  The rules are as follows:
1 “3 pack” of Color(s) A (3 garments)

1 “3 pack” of Color(s) B (3 garments)
1 “Combo Pack” of Colors A & B (2 garments)
1 “3 pack” of Wild Cards 

A “3 pack” will be:

2 tops + 1 bottom 
or
1 top + 1 bottom + 1 outer layer 
or 
1 dress + 1 top + 1 bottom
or 
2 bottoms + 1 top
or 
Two dresses & one layer.
or 
The final 3 pack option is 1 dress + 1 top OR bottom + 1 layer. 


The “Combo Pack” can be just about anything, but they must be garments, not accessories (scarves, belts, bags, etc).  The “Wild Cards” can also be any color, or any color combination,  but for this to work they will need to follow the format of one of the other “3 packs”.  That is, you’ll need more tops, bottoms, or dresses to make the wardrobe work.


I have started work on my SWAP 2016 but my ideas keep changing!  I have been doing a lot of thinking about sewing in the Christmas break, but there has been no action – hopefully I will be spending some time sewing tomorrow. 
Leave a Reply

