Uncategorized

The Yorkshire Spoolette meetup!

Coming back to sewing in 2013, after a gap of nearly 20 years, meant that one of the great sewing ‘tools’ I have to hand are sewing blogs, utube and loads of advice about sewing on the internet!

Someone mentioned handmadejane to me, and I was off down the rabbit hole of blogs, independent patterns, online shopping etc etc. One thing that looked fun  was the sewing meet ups  in Birmingham and London, but I couldn’t justify travelling all that way to buy fabric when we have good shops and a wealth of textile history in Yorkshire!  So it was great to find Ali’s blog and discover the existence of the Yorkshire Spoolettes and plans to meet up on the 6th February.

Ali has done a blog post here  I didn’t take any photos on the day, too busy talking and buying fabric! so the photos with people in are  are Ali’s.  We started off at a trimmings and haberdashery stall, where I bought satin bias binding at 20p a metre and lovely pink lace at a pound a metre! (the cushion pad came from Fabworks)

We spent a long time in Fabworks  (online shop here), and a couple of ladies were wearing items with fabric previously bought there!  I had already looked online and picked a couple of fabrics, but got persuaded into these four pieces.

The navy and yellow maybe for a Maria Denmark Karen Drape dress, which I think I am going to tackle first. 
We went on to Lucky Fabrics which is only open on Wednesdays and Saturdays. 

They were prepared for us and  supplied a a range of  cakes and biscuits, tea and coffee.  The fabric is really good value,  I paid £4.40 a metre for the two fabrics I bought. They have a great range and are really helpful. 
Our last shop was one known as the ‘pound a yard’ shop, but I was a bit shopped out by then, maybe next time…………………….
We all had a late lunch at Weatherspoons much to the bemusement of the mainly male clientele watching the rugby! It was great to chat to continue chatting about sewing and fabric, and meet people whose blogs I read. 
So a great day out, with lovely ladies. I  also ‘swapped’  7 patterns and 4 lots of fabric, which definitely justifies my purchases. I notice that Camilla has taken a retro pattern I brought, hope she makes it up soon!  Ali has set us a challenge, to make something with at least one of our purchases, by the 6th of March – better get sewing!
8 thoughts on “The Yorkshire Spoolette meetup!

  1. Hello! Love your purchases! I only got chance to see the odd thing that everyone got so i'm loving reading everyone's round up posts! Have you made the Maria Denmark Dress before? I love her pattern. In 2014 when I did the RTW i made umpteen of her Yasmin Yoke skirts! What's it gonna be first then?! Maybe us local spoolette should get together for a photoshoot (in a pub!! haha) just before the 6th March?! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

