2016 It’s a wrap!

I’m sure that lots will be written about 2016, so I’m not going to make any pronouncements about the state of the world, or how many celebrities have died.
For me and creativity, its mainly been about sewing.  At the last count 11 failures and  27 successful items.  Of the 27, I think 14 were dresses! The failures have been down to using the wrong fabric, not  making a toile, and just being impatient. 

 

I’ve also made a lot of repeats, four  fake wrap dresses using this free pattern http://so-sew-easy.com/wrap-dress-pattern/
I’ve made three itch to stitch Kathryn dresses including this pink and navy colour blocked one.
img_0092I’ve made two of the straight dresses from New Look 6013, and two fake wrap dresses from New Look 6301. This red one was my #thelittlereddressproject, that I wore to a wedding, on Christmas Day and to work for our Christmas do.
These dresses have helped me to define my current style which I am very happy with. So my ‘uniform’ for work  is basically a dress usually in a shade of blue, with silver jewellery, a pair of black court shoes and a jacket or cardigan.  I am sure that I will refine my look over the next year, but am pleased with my look so far.
I started the year joining SWAP2016, which I didn’t finish but got me thinking a lot more about what I was sewing and wearing, and am ending the year having joined SWAP2017, which gives me a focus on separates for a few months, as it’s been all about dresses recently.
I joined the Yorkshire Spoolettes on a shopping trip in Dewsbury in February, it was great to find out about some local sewists, hopefully I will attend something next year too.
So although my sewing hasn’t been of great quality, been too rushed and felt a bit chaotic at times I am really pleased with the overall outcome, and how it has linked to me being able to express what I want to convey through clothes.
Leave a Reply

