Uncategorized

Aims for 2018 and a blogging break

No resolutions, but I’m going to focus on the number 18 this year for obvious reasons. Over the last couple of years I have bought lots of fabric, clothes, shoes and bags.  This year I want to enjoy and use what I have. So my goal is to sew at least 18 items of clothing from my existing fabric collection.  I can’t achieve buying nothing so   I want to buy 18 or less items of clothing, shoes, bags or fabric.  I’ll exclude spending with birthday and Christmas money, and buying lingerie, socks and pyjamas.

My cuurent fabric collection according to Cora is 90 metres.

I could do with buying no patterns, but maybe I should say no more than 18 patterns, sewing magazines or books.

Ive enjoyed #memademay, #bpsewvember, the #sewing togetherforsummer shirt dress  challenges.  Unfortunately I didn’t have enough time and energy for #thelittlereddress this year.  The #sipandsewwas a worthy cause but stressful  as it took me three attempts. This year I’d like to do the shirt dress and red dress challenge, I’ve already got ideas and fabric!

I want to make the  two Named Pilvi dresses that I never got round to making last year. Other ideas for using my fabric collection include  grainline archers with these fabrics  . So I’ll be a perfect shirt maker after that!

An oraguse Amsterdam blazer in navy and black taffeta

IMG_2831

The Helsinki oraguse top in this coral white and grey stretch fabric.

IMG_3389

The papercut  coppelia wrap top in liberty black and floral jersey.

IMG_2810

That will do to start with!  I’m sure I’ll change my mind along the way.

I’m  giving up blogging for a while, and will document my makes using a notebook or Instagram. Bye for now!

2 thoughts on “Aims for 2018 and a blogging break

  1. Those plans look great, the Archer is a good basic, I keep meaning to make more shirts, they’re so versatile. Good luck with your stash busting too, and I’ll will miss your posts. I’ve not felt the urge to blog either, I’m a pretty reluctant one anyway, but look forward to staying in touch on IG 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks Karen. I’m not a natural writer, and am trying to make more time for making. Fingers crossed the stash busting is successful this year! How did you get on reducing your stash last year?

      Like

Leave a comment